I rub my eyes, trying to figure out how I got to this file in the first place. It’s not like I started here, I know I didn’t, I was working on a way more minor case before I switched teams, which I sort of planned to check up on and probably have by now, and I know it’s been a bit of a confusing transition, but I would’ve noticed a connection like that.

Also, I think it turned out that Griff closed that case, anyway, or at least got a significant enough lead that it’s turned into a different case completely, but I couldn’t swear to it. I really should’ve taken something to sleep last night. I should try to take an early day, today, before the kids get in, because they’re more responsibility than they seem like they should be, you have to stop them from –

Oh, that’s right. Someone had injuries from his own powers, and they’re wondering whether it’s because he tangled with the wrong person or if he just dumbassed himself. I click back a few files. Right. Boomerang. He hasn’t been here long, only since the beginning of the summer, which makes a lot of sense considering he’s probably starting college any minute now.

And he wasn’t willing to explain what happened, which screams dumbass to me.

Oh, right. I was looking up my new teammates. That wasn’t what I was trying to do, but it’s the tangent I’ve been on, and it’s not like it necessarily needed not to happen.

I was trying to look up training techniques, that’s what I was doing.

I page back through my open files a little bit further, and there we are. Standard training regimen for all the most common powers, and even some of the interesting ones. I try to find the search tool, but they like to hide it even more deviously than usual when you’re trying to read through the really long documents, don’t they.

Six printouts later, I’m working up a lesson plan. Luckily, their files all mark down how far through the program they are, because a two year curriculum means two years at college level, and not whatever kids can get through at the distracted-by-moving-objects-and-too-dumb-to-remember-their-pseudonyms stage.

Also, they’re different ages, so they’re at different points on the plan.

Also, Jailbait’s into the advanced training, which I should have remembered, and I take a minute to print out a different set of pages for her. Actually, several, because she’s got a bit of a weird powerset, so what are you going to do about that. (Really weird, honestly.)

But that’s fine, because the rest is just basic schedules for ‘combat armor (flying)’ and ‘speed (time dilation)’ and ‘Standard Set A’ (why can’t they just label it the White Hat Complex, even the navy does) and ‘long range (physical projectiles)’ and ‘long range (miscellaneous)’.

Although it’s actually kind of annoying that there are a dozen different standard sets when they all break down into powers that are individually listed anyway.

I think I’ve figured out how I tripped over Klepto’s file, in any case.

I try to fill out all the information from the kids’ files into the spaces in the training plans at whatever stage the kids are supposed to be at. At least I have one student who’s going to be starting from scratch the same as I am, so I can’t possibly be skipping anything or reteaching anything there.

At some point, copying over lines and tracing out diagrams starts to become soothing, and I fall into the rhythm of it, going back to copy over all of the earlier information, just to familiarize myself with their programs since they started. It’s a good way to get to know my students, even though I’ve met most of them before, and I’m sure I’ll get to know them even better tomorrow afternoon, and I’m probably supposed to know what they have trouble with and power nuances and crap.

I file my first week’s lesson plan, but none of it takes place outside of the kids’ gym, anyway, so it’s not like I even have to book anything, and I doubt anyone checks for any other reason.

I mean, I’ve looked, and Coach Domino filled one out every week, even if most of them did just read ‘same old, same old’ after the first couple of months. I figure I better put in at least a token effort for at least that long (a little bit longer, just to be safe).

I wonder if the kids will like me.

I put in a request to the kitchens, too, because they’re going to be here directly after school. I always felt better after an afternoon snack, anyway, and public school lunches are way worse, so I’ve got to assume at least some of them will be even happier about it. (I don’t even have to wonder if Coach Domino used to do the same thing, because there’s a standardized button for me already. It’s even already set to six.)

See, look at me, parenting like a boss. Way to go, Travis.

Ugh, I feel like I should be setting up some way to help with their homework or something.

Okay, but what’s going to save their lives better, evasive maneuvering, or Greek? They can do their homework during lunchtime, like normal people.

prev | next

Leave a Reply

